A skilled visa is a type of visa that is designed to attract skilled workers to a country. Skilled visas are typically offered to individuals who have specialized skills, knowledge, and qualifications that are in high demand in the country in question.

Following are the most basic criteria you need to meet to be eligible to apply :

  • • Less than 45 years old
  • • Have an occupation that is on the relevant Skilled Occupations Lists
  • • Have a positive skills assessment for that occupation
  • • Be able to score at least 65 on the points test
  • • Competent English, i.e. IELTS 6.0 on each band

Skilled Visa Australia Categories

1. Skilled Independent Visa Subclass 189

The skilled independent visa subclass 189 Australia is a permanent point-based visa for skilled workers who are invited and does not require any sponsorship.

2. Skilled Nominated Visa Subclass 190

The skilled nominated visa subclass 190 is granted to those who are nominated by state government or territorial government authority.

3. Skilled Regional Visa Subclass 887

The skilled regional visa subclass 887 enables individuals to apply for permanent residence provided they have already stayed and worked in a particular regional area in Australia.

4. Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa Subclass 491

The skilled work regional (provisional) visa subclass 491 aims to bring skilled workers to work and stay in some of the regional areas of Australia for five years.